When the Flood Falls

When the Flood Falls

"The Falls Mysteries" series #1

by J.E. Barnard
  • from-the-prairies
  • mystery-crime
  • series
When a phantom stalker targets her friend, Lacey McCrae’s crime-busting skills are tested to their limits. With her career in tatters and her marriage receding in the rear-view mirror, ex-RCMP corporal Lacey McCrae trades her uniform for a tool belt and the Lower Mainland for the foothills west of Calgary. Amid the oil barons, hockey stars, and other high rollers living in the wilderness playground is her old university roommate, Dee Phillips. Dee’s glossy life was shattered by a reckless driver. Now she’s haunted by a nighttime prowler only she can hear. As snowmelt swells the icy river, threatening the only bridge back to civilization, Lacey must make the call: assume Dee’s in danger and get her out of there, or decide the prowler is imaginary and stay, cut off from help if the bridge is swept away.


J.E. Barnard, author

J.E. Barnard’s first novella, Maddie Hatter and the Deadly Diamond, was a 2016 Prix Aurora finalist. When the Flood Falls won the Unhanged Arthur Ellis Award in 2016. She lives in Calgary.


  • Winner, 2016 Unhanged Arthur Award for Best Unpublished First Crime Novel

Rights Holder

Rights Holder: Dundurn Press

email: svandrine@dundurn.com

website: https://www.dundurn.com/

rights available: Worldwide, all languages and formats

Additional Information

number of pages: 424

publication date: 07/14/2018

Original language of pub: English

Materials Available: complete manuscript